Alex Cora and the Other Red Sox Who Said No to the White House

May 06, 2019 - 7:08 am

(WEEI) The Boston Red Sox will be honored by Donald Trump at the White House on Thursday for winning the World Series, but several players and coaches will not attend.

Manager Alex Cora was the latest to reveal he will not be attending. He said Sunday the decision was made in recent days after talking to loved ones and people who are close to him. The Puerto Rico native has voiced his displeasure over how Trump and the United States government have handled hurricane relief efforts in the United States territory since August 2017.

Here is an up-to-date list of who is going and who is not going:


RHP Matt Barnes
RHP Ryan Brasier
President of baseball operations Dave Dombrowski
RHP Nathan Eovaldi
RHP Heath Hembree
Principal owner John Henry
Utilty Brock Holt
LHP Brian Johnson
President and CEO Sam Kennedy
OF/DH J.D. Martinez
1B Mitch Moreland
1B Steve Pearce
RHP Rick Porcello
LHP Chris Sale
Chairman Tom Werner
RHP Brandon Workman
RHP Steven Wright


OF Mookie Betts
OF Jackie Bradley Jr.
SS Xander Bogaerts
Manager Alex Cora
3B Rafael Devers
C Sandy Leon
LHP David Price
C Christian Vazquez
RHP Hector Velazquez